HRA’s 12th Annual Hall of Fame Event Recap

The Hawaii Restaurant Association’s 12th Annual Hall of Fame Induction & Chefs of Aloha Dine Around was held on Monday, November 19th at the Sheraton Waikiki. The HRA Hall of Fame celebrates the accomplishments of outstanding restaurateurs and chefs who have made lasting, substantial and distinctive contributions to the restaurant and food service industry in Hawaii. These contributions demonstrate leadership and vision and are widely recognized in local, national, or international communities.  Inductees were chosen based on how they’ve shared their time and talents to enrich their community, as well as their dedication, leadership and commitment to the restaurant and food service industry in Hawai‘i.  Conrad Nonaka was the honored inductee of the night, and guests went home with wine charm favors bearing Conrad’s family crest (mon) on one side and our HRA logo on the other.



 Conrad Nonaka – Culinary Institute of the Pacific, HFWF, Restaurant Week,

Longtime HRA member and contributor (Deceased)

Don Dymond – Kalapawai Market/Deli (Deceased)

Wilfred & Mary Kawamura – W&M Bar-B-Q Burger

Andy Anderson – John Dominis, Michel’s at the Colony Surf, Haleiwa Beach House

George & Irene Fukuoka – Pearl City Tavern (Deceased)

Paul Uyehara – Aloha Tofu Company

Ernest Sueoka – Sueoka’s Snack Shop


Paul Horner – Lodge at Koele


Duke Baker – Tex Drive In & Restaurant


The event honored amazing individuals and allowed guests to partake in libations during a cocktail hour and mouth-watering dishes during the Chefs of Aloha Dine-Around.

Michels at the Colony Surf – Executive Chef Hardy Kintscher

The Brilliant Ox – Executive Chef Brian Gremillion

Rum Fire at Sheraton Waikiki – Chef de Cuisine John Salcedo

Diamond Dining Buho and Shokudo – Chef Arnaldo “Masa” Gushiken

Haleiwa Beach House – Executive Chef Chris Blanc

Sansei Seafood Restaurant and Sushi Bar – DK Kodama

Mark’s Place (Kauai) – Executive Chef Gavin Onishi

Bamboo Catering – Executive Chef/Owner Jason Takemura

Agu Ramen – Executive Chef/Owner Hisashi Uehara

Kalapawai – Executive Chef Jason Iwane


Il Gelato – Maestro Gelatiere/Owner Dirk Koeppenkastrop

MW Restaurant – Executive Pastry Chef/Owner Michelle Karr-Ueoka


Related Posts

November 2022 Vice Chairman’s Message

November 2022 Vice Chairman’s Message

For all restaurants, it has been a rocky nearly three years of sailing in the dark COVID ocean. Fortunately, we are close to getting out of it. This pandemic has brought us separation, grief, and financial despair. But Hawaii is strong, we see examples of courage,...

Honolulu Outdoor Dining Program

Honolulu Outdoor Dining Program

In a move to support our local restaurants as we continue down the long road to economic recovery, the City and County of Honolulu has put the City's previously temporary sidewalk dining program into law in Ord. 22-19 (Bill 27 (2022), CD2), which is the City's outdoor...

September 2022 Executive Director’s Message

September 2022 Executive Director’s Message

I would like to take this moment to share with you, our valued members, all the activities the Hawaii Restaurant Association has been working on for October 2022.  To assist our member’s businesses in staffing up for the holidays, HRA has organized a FREE Hiring Event...