Hawaii Restaurant Association’s 10th Annual Hall of Fame Dinner


Association’s Hall of Fame adds 10 more inductees and recognizes Zippy’s Restaurants and the Aloha Shoyu Company as Legacy Award Winners

September 20, 2016 (HONOLULU, HI) – The Hawaii Restaurant Association held its 10th Annual Hall of Fame Dinner at the Dole Cannery’s Pomaika`i Ballroom in Iwilei on Monday, September 19, 2016.

Well-known and longtime Hawaii sportscaster Kanoa Leahey emceed the event with Chef Alan

Wong and Honolulu Magazine Food Editor Catherine Toth-Fox serving as guest presenters for the ceremony.

The event also included a “Chefs of Aloha” Dine-Around that featured guest Chefs (see attached for complete list of guest Chefs) from the past nine (9) years of Hall of Fame dinners preparing exquisite dishes for all attendees.

The formal Hall of Fame Inductee ceremony began at 7:30 p.m. with the following individuals being inducted into the HRA’s 2016 Hall of Fame:



Mark Shishido – Wine Director Alan Wong’s

Dr. John Morton – VP for UH Community Colleges 

Edward Doty – Eagle Distributors/JMD Beverages

Alicia and Raymond Kam – Alicia’s Market

Mel and Lynn Tanioka – Tanioka’s Seafood and Catering

David Nagaishi – Ocean House, Pounders at PCC (Deceased)

Jacqueline Lau – Roy’s Hawaii



Bob and Christine French – Brennecke’s Beach Broiler



Aaron Placourakis – President / CEO Tri Star Restaurant Group,

JAS Restaurants & AMP Restaurants, LTD.




Debra Ching Maiava and Ric Maiava – Ken’s House of Pancakes 

In addition, the Hawaii Restaurant Association recognized Zippy’s Restaurants and Aloha Shoyu Company as 2016 Legacy Award recipients.

The inductees as well as the legacy winners were individuals and/or company’s that have demonstrated dedication and commitment to the growth of the restaurant and food service industry in Hawaii, contributed to the enhancement of its quality and image, and demonstrated service through outreach.

For the past 50 years, Zippy’s has followed Frances and Charles Higa’s core business values of commitment, serving with honorable intentions and uncompromising integrity, taking care of people, recognizing the unlimited potential in people and opportunities, taking risks and being willing to change and think long term. Whether it’s a Zip Pac before heading to the beach, a bucket of chicken for a potluck or some oxtail soup after a long night out the next stop will always be Zippy’s.

After 70 years in Hawaii, the Aloha Shoyu `ohana continues to emphasize the core Hawaiian values of kindness, unity, humility, and perseverance. For over seven decades, Aloha Shoyu Company continues to bring its unique products to kitchens all over the world, so that every dish can be served with a little aloha.

Proceeds from this year’s event will benefit the HRA Scholarship Program at the University of Hawaii Community Colleges.

For more information please contact Anne Lee, at 808-534-7533 or log onto: www.hawaiirestaurant.org.

About The Hawaii Restaurant Association

The Hawaii Restaurant Association (HRA) is a 501(c)(6) non-profit trade organization, together with the National Restaurant Association and the National Restaurant Association Educational Foundation, is dedicated to representing, educating and promoting the restaurant, food service, hospitality and tourism industries. The HRA provides access to the support and resources that industry professionals need to maintain a thriving business and serves as a contributing member of the unique and diverse restaurant community here in Hawaii.


“Chefs of Aloha” Dine-Around


Chefs from the past 9 years for the evening Dine Around included:


2016 – Chef Mark Noguchi – MISSION Social Hall & Café

2015 – Chef Freddie Billena – Pōmaika’i Ballrooms                                    

2014 – Chef James Aptakin – MAC 24/7    

2014 – Chef Ken Mackenzie – Tommy Bahama

2014 – Chef Marc Anthony Freiberg – Mariposa

2013 – Chef Jesse Cruz – Lucky Belly and Livestock Tavern

2013 – Chef Cyrus Goo – Café Laufer

2012 – Chef Long – Prima

2011 – Chef Roger Dikon – Regency Culinary Services and HRC founding chef

2010 – Chef Goran Streng – Tango Contemporary Café

2009 – Chef Matt Young – Hula Grill    

2009 – Chef Keith Kong – Duke’s Waikiki

2008 – Chef Chai Chaowasaree – Chef Chai’s

2007 – Chef Russell Siu – 3660 on the Rise / Kaka’ako kitchen


Related Posts

Customers notice when Rats and Roaches are seen.

Customers notice when Rats and Roaches are seen.

As Hawaiian restaurants and food operations continue to get busier, VERMIN are getting busier too!! The Hawaii Department of Health does a great job in responding to complaints of rodents and bugs when a customer contacts the DoH. There have been a few serious...

HRA Executive Director’s Message July 2021

HRA Executive Director’s Message July 2021

Like you, I am sick of hearing that we see the light at the end of the tunnel.  We are out of the tunnel and we need to have back the control of our businesses and our own fates.  We need the government to take a bow for all they have done for us and let the curtain...

Deep Members only discounts at Office Depot and OfficeMax

Office Depot As a member of the Hawaii Restaurant Association you now have access to exclusive members-only discounts at Office Depot and OfficeMax. Save up to 80% off the officedepot.com regular prices on our Best Value List of preferred products with free delivery...